sjhstrangetales

BOOK REVIEW: DIANA THE ABDUCTION: MYSTERY SOLVED by RANIA ALAMMAR

Posted on: December 7, 2016

  • In: Uncategorized
  • Comments Off on BOOK REVIEW: DIANA THE ABDUCTION: MYSTERY SOLVED by RANIA ALAMMAR

I know hardened sceptics may be rolling their eyes at this point.  “Oh pah-lease! Another book about Princess Diana’s death?  She died because she wasn’t wearing a seat-belt, get over it!”   Ah, but it’s a mystery which still endures.

I’ve read several books about Diana’s untimely death over the years, and to be honest, I didn’t think I’d be tempted to try another one unless someone actually came up with some hard compelling evidence as to what happened that fateful August night in 1997, instead of just wild speculating, and bending facts to fit whichever is their pet theory.  This one enticed me because the author argues that Diana didn’t die at all, that she was in fact abducted.

Hardened sceptics will be rolling their eyes again.  “Don’t we always get this when a famous person dies in their prime?  You’ll be seeing Elvis down Tesco’s next”.  Indeed.  And yes, it’s true that people do have a problem accepting that tragedies can happen to  famous people in the prime of life, as much as they can happen to anybody else.  God knows how many times Elvis has been spotted.   I once saw a book by a man who claimed he had given a lift to a 60-something Marilyn Monroe back in the 1980s.  And on the Your True Tales website I read a short piece by someone who swore they had once  seen a 70-year-old John F Kennedy walking past the shop where he worked.

When I first visited the Pont Alma in Paris in 1999, someone had put up a poster there claiming that Diana had faked her own death to live a life of anonymity.  I don’t believe that for one minute.  You can argue abduction is equally far-fetched, but yet, I’ve read sincere comments over the years – both in books and Online – from people who believe that may have been what happened.

This book was better than I expected, in that it wasn’t a swivel-eyed, hysterical rant, as some conspiracy books can often be.  The author has done some solid research, and the medical details are gone into in tremendous detail, to the extent that I personally found parts of it heavy-going.  That’s mainly because there’s a limit to how much I can read about embalming and autopsies without mentally zoning out.

I must add that the author also mentions, in relation to royal mysteries,  the weird case of the 10 missing Canadian aboriginal children from October 1964.  I’ve been intrigued by that one for quite some time now, and yet can find very little information on it, so I’m always fascinated when anybody else mentions it.

Frustratingly, the book offers no ideas as to what may have happened to Diana if she did indeed survive that night.  Is she still alive?  Where did they take her?   I hope the author pursues this subject, as there’s certainly scope for a follow-up volume.

As an Amazon reviewer put it, this book is “flawed, but perhaps important”.  It is certainly thought-provoking.  I found myself both agreeing and disagreeing with her.  I agree that Dodi was just a summer diversion for Diana, and not the great love affair some believe it was (I think she was still on the rebound from Dr Khan).  The author paints Al Fayed as a complete villain.  I’m honestly not sure about that.  I found him to be genuinely moving in the controversial film Unlawful Killing (although it must be pointed out that he bankrolled it).   Don’t message me.  I don’t know the man, I have no idea what he’s like.

If hardened sceptics are still rolling their eyes, well I can’t offer you much reassurance.  There are still too many mysteries, conundrums, and unanswered questions about the Princess’s death for conspiracists to shut up about it any time soon.  This one will continue to run and run.

 

 

Copyright

© Sarah Hapgood and sjhstrangetales.wordpress.com, 2011-2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Sarah Hapgood and sjhstrangetales.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Strange Tales now on Kindle

Cover of Sarah Hapgood's Strange Tales 5

Mysteries, murders and other tales of the Unexplained from my blog entries, Strange Tales 5: Mysteries, murders and other tales of the Unexplained is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.99. Also available on other Amazon sites.


Cover of Sarah Hapgood's Strange Tales 4

An illustrated collection of 42 more of my blog entries, Strange Tales 4: 42 new cases of the Unexplained is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.99. Also available on other Amazon sites.


Cover of Sarah Hapgood's Strange Tales 3

An illustrated collection of 35 more of my blog entries, Strange Tales 3: A new collection of mysterious places and odd people is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.99. Also available on other Amazon sites.


Cover of Sarah Hapgood's Strange Tales 2

An illustrated collection of 23 more of my blog entries, Strange Tales 2: more mysterious places and odd people is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.15. Also available on other Amazon sites.


Cover of Sarah Hapgood's Strange Tales

An illustrated collection of 40 of my blog entries, Strange Tales: an A-Z of mysterious places and odd people is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £2.32. Also available on other Amazon sites.

Sarah’s fiction on Kindle

Cover of Sarah Hapgood's 
Transylvanian Sky and other stories

A second collection of my short stories, Transylvanian Sky and other stories is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.99. Also available on other Amazon sites.


Cover of Sarah Hapgood's 
B-Road Incident and other stories

A collection of 21 of my short stories, B-Road Incident and other stories is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.15. Also available on other Amazon sites.


Cover of Sarah Hapgood's 
The Chronicles of Shinglesea

A collection my Shinglesea stories, The Chronicles of Shinglesea is now available for Amazon's Kindle, price £1.15. Also available on other Amazon sites.

Sarah’s tweets

